DIY, Gardening

The Journey of a Newbie Gardner/Picky Eater Chronicles (part 1)

I just may have THE pickiest eaters ever for kids. I know many families can relate to this feeling. Sometimes getting a kid to eat vegetables is tricky. I have to hide them in other foods and even then it can be hit or miss. 

So this year I have decided to try another approach…Our very own garden that the kids will help with. This is my first attempt at gardening so this is an adventure I am really excited about.

In this series of blogs I will be sharing our experiences as we learn to garden for the first time and try to find new ways to promote healthy eating habits in these picky kids of mine. 

Starting our garden

Contrary to my kids, I love fresh vegetables. Unfortunately in our area we don’t have any local farm stands or markets to support and buying them at the grocery store can be expensive and disappointing. I am hoping by growing our own veggies we can not only save money but also reap the greater rewards of growing them ourselves as a family activity. With any luck, maybe, just maybe, this garden will help get my kids interested in at least trying to eat what they grow. And if not, I will at least have an abundance of veggies to hide in their food. 😉 

I knew I wanted to start our garden from seeds so I did a little research and found out our growing zone and if/when to start them indoors. I decided to start with the main veggies I knew I wanted- banana peppers, green beans, tomatoes, summer squash and zucchini squash. 

I started collecting my containers-ice cream buckets, soda bottles and even dresser drawers. (I try to recycle and be frugal every chance I can 😉 ) Using my workbench from the garage and a couple of standard shop lights, I put together a seed starting table. 


The kids were so excited to see all the seedlings popping up. 

I water them with slightly warm water and spray them every couple of days with the squirt bottle. I also keep the lights about 2in. above the leaves and leave them on from 6am to about 9pm or so. The seedlings seem to be thriving. 


I have had to transplant them into larger containers 4 times now. This is definitely a learning experience that we are all enjoying. 


Now it’s time to expand and start even more seeds. 🙂 

Check back often as this journey continues…

2 thoughts on “The Journey of a Newbie Gardner/Picky Eater Chronicles (part 1)”

  1. I’m willing to bet my grandkids are pickier than your children!!! I’ve tried to entice them to try veggies straight from the garden. When they were little they would eat peas right from the vines, but now? They are willing to pick produce from the garden, but still won’t eat it. Very sad…and frustrating!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know exactly how you feel. My 2 youngest used to eat everything I offered them then one day it was like a switch was flipped and now they refuse. I started hiding veggies in other foods. Their favorites are zucchini and carrot muffins. They think it’s a treat but I know it’s healthy! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

